2023 Artists

Alexis Arai y Su Grupo Latino

Alexis stands in the center of the photo in a green sparkly dress surrounded by her band dressed in black shirts and white pants on an outdoor stage with a darkening sky in the background

Alexis Arai (Ah-RA-ee) is a true gem in today's music industry, showcasing an exceptional talent as a vocalist. Her incredible four-octave range and dynamic style allow her to effortlessly transition from the sultry notes of jazz to the upbeat rhythms of pop, leaving audiences captivated by her versatility.

After gracing the stages of The Voice and American Idol, as well as making it to the semifinals on Tengo Talento Mucho Talento, this Nebraska superstar will provide an unforgettable concert. As Jennifer Lopez herself attests, "Her voice is powerful and gives me goosebumps."

Get ready to watch the stage ignite during the group’s performance and enjoy accompanying entertainment from the legendary Salserodalante Productions dancers.


Angela Hagenbach Sextet

A Jazz in June favorite, Angela Hagenbach is a fashion-model-turned-jazz singer whose voice has been described as a mocha-rich contralto with razor-sharp intonation. She sings everything from swinging, straight-ahead jazz standards, blues, and original compositions to sensual Latin jazz.


Hagenbach has been twice selected by the U.S. Information Agency and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts to represent the United States as a jazz ambassador. Based in Kansas City, she is one of the top Brazilian jazz singers in the United States and will be performing as part of a sextet.

The Metro Jazz Quintet

The Metro Jazz Group wearing black suits playing in a living room setting with a large orange couch in the foreground

Experience the captivating allure of classic jazz with Nebraska’s Metro Jazz Quintet. Immerse yourself in the soulful melodies of legendary composers such as Ellington, Gershwin, and Porter as this talented ensemble effortlessly delivers a swinging performance.


Comprised of some of the most esteemed jazz artists in the state, it’s no surprise that the Metro Jazz Quintet has been selected as the Lied Center's Jazz Club Artist. These skilled musicians are true masters of their craft, showcasing an impressive range of instrumental virtuosity and technical precision.

Terrance Simien and The Zydeco Experience

Terrance on stage playing an accordian wearing a pointy hat

Hailed by Rolling Stone as a “Master of Zyedeco,” two-time Grammy award-winning Terrance Simien makes his first appearance as part of Jazz in June with his band, The Zydeco Experience. Simien creates a hypnotic blend of New Orleans funk-reggae-flavored-world-blues-American roots music that beckons you to your feet and into the groove.


Simien has become one of the most respected and accomplished artists in American roots music today. He and his bandmates have performed over 7,000 concerts and toured millions of miles to more than 45 countries during their eventful careers.


Thanks to our sponsors

  • Allo logo
  • Lee & Debbie Stuart Family Foundation
  • Shirts101 logo
  • Lied Center for Performing Arts logo
  • NBC Bank logo
  • University of Nebraska–Lincoln logo
  • Ironhide Construction Inc.  logo
  • KidGlov logo
  • Union Bank & Trust logo
  • Pearle Francis Finigan Foundation
  • Alpha Media logo
  • Valentino's logo
  • Lincoln Community Foundation logo
  • KZUM logo
I aM here!!!